Week In Review (October 12-18, 2013)

My Excuses…

Well, this has been a sad week for reading.  It is even sadder considering I read 3 books last week and I’m only 25% through one book this week.  (Of course I was on vacation last week AND I was stuck inside all week due to pouring rain.)  This week I am in the midst of Margaret Atwood’s, The Handmaid’s Tale.  I’ve been swamped at work and have been so exhausted, I’ve only been getting in a chapter or two a night.  I feel like I’m getting no where fast.

Unlike most book bloggers, I read one book at a time which will probably make for a slow blog, but I can’t keep stories straight if I’m reading 3 or 4 books at a time.  I had to do that as an English major in college and sometimes the plots started merging which made writing papers about them quite interesting.

In addition to not reading much this week, I’m struggling with The Handmaid’s Tale.  As maddening as the state of affairs is in the novel, it is still not a fast read.  I’m having a really hard time with Atwood’s writing style.  Hopefully I’ll finish it soon and will be on to something fun!

Up & Coming…

Some books I’m looking forward to reading soon…
The Scribe by Elizabeth Hunter
Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor
Nevermore by William Hjortsberg
The Wretched of Muirwood by Jeff Wheeler

Plus I’ve got to finish the Mortal Instruments series.  I’ve read #3 and I personally liked where it ended.  I feel like the entire series could have ended there.  I’m kind of wondering whether it’s worth reading City of Lost Souls and City of Fallen Angels.

So, can any of you give me some insight on these future reads?  I love input!  Hook me up with your knowledge.

Please tell me what you think!

