FREE BOOKS=SCORE!!!!

As most of you know, I am fairly new to the book reviewing/blogging world.  When I first started a couple of months ago, I was checking out tons of book blogs and I kept seeing everyone referring to ARCs.  I didn’t know what the heck an ARC was so I started doing a little research and found a wonderful blog by Small Review about ARCs and how to get them…How to Get ARCs: A Step-by-Step Guide.  It was extremely helpful for a newbie like me!  I found out that ARC is an acronym for “Advanced Reader Copy” and there are dozens of ways to obtain them.  It looked like one of the easier ways was through NetGalley, a website which hooks “professional readers” up with publishers who then provide e-ARCs.  (Can I say I’m just a little stoked about being titled a professional reader?!?)  So, last week I headed over to NetGalley and finally got down to business.  I created my account, requested about a dozen or so books and then…I waited.

To tell you the truth, I didn’t expect to get an answer for a while and I expected to get turned down.  Much to my surprise, I started getting replies within two days and most were approvals.  I received 9 out of the 13 requested!  Score!!!  Only three of them are technically ARCs since the others have already been released, but I don’t really care.  Free books are free books as far as I’m concerned.  I’m just happy to have them!  They downloaded to my Kindle with no problems.

ARCs In the Bag

The Corpse-Rat King by Lee Batersby from Angry Robot Publishers
The Cambodian Book of the Dead by Tom Vater from Angry Robot Publishers
Between Two Thorns by Emma Newman from Angry Robot Publishers
The Hangman’s Replacement by Taona Dumisani Chiveneko
The Heavens Rise by Christopher Rice from Gallery Books
A Dance of Cloaks by David Dalglish from Orbit Books
Bellman & Black by Diane Setterfield from Atria Books
Echo Prophecy by Lindsey Fairleigh from L2 Books
Circle of Fire by Keri Arthur from Random House Publishing Group-Bantam Dell

So if you’re new to the book blogging world, I hope this helps.  If you’ve been in a while and have any other suggestions, please let me know.  I want to learn as much as I can.  Also, if you have any input about which of these books I should read first, let me know!

Please tell me what you think!

