Feature and Follow #4: Is the movie ever better than the book?

20131026-140421.jpg

Feature & Follow is hosted by Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read. It’s a way to make new friends and gain new followers.  I hope you’ll follow me.  It doesn’t really matter how: Email, WordPress or Bloglovin.  If you do, let me know and I’ll follow back.

This week’s F&F question:  Are there any book to movie adaptations where you think the movie is better than the book?

Much to my chagrin, there are a couple of movies that were better than the books.  NOT many, though!  I had to really think hard about this because my go-to answer for this question is…”The book is always better than the movie!”

Most of the movies I think are better than the books are classics.  I really think it’s a hang up on my part.  I read for enjoyment and if the language is too flowery or antiquated, I have a really hard time staying engaged.  In movies they tend to use body language to address this issue and it clears everything right up for me.

Ok, ok I know you want me to break down and list some of the ones I’m talking about.  Here goes…
Anything by Jane Austen!
Anything by Shakespeare!
Tom Jones – Henry Fielding
Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
Dracula – Bram Stoker
Frankenstein – Mary Shelley

Don’t judge me too harshly!  I will say this…As far as recent books (written in the last couple of decades), I can’t think of one movie that tops the book.  That is my middle of the road answer for the week.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Feature and Follow #4: Is the movie ever better than the book?

Please tell me what you think!

