Feature and Follow #7: Reluctant Reader-Fantasy

20131026-140421.jpg

Feature & Follow is hosted by Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read. It’s a way to make new friends and gain new followers.  I hope you’ll follow me.  It doesn’t really matter how: Email, WordPress or Bloglovin.  If you do, let me know and I’ll follow back.

This week’s F&F:

Pick a book in your favorite genre that you’d recommend to a reluctant reader.

Theft of Swords (The Riyria Revelations, #1-2)Rise of Empire (The Riyria Revelations, #3-4)Heir of Novron (The Riyria Revelations, #5-6)

The Riyria Revelations series would be my suggestion to anyone not familiar with or reluctant to read High Fantasy.

A lot of people are very hesitant about reading the fantasy genre.  This series is the perfect introduction for those reluctant readers.  Here are a few reasons for my decision…

  • Small Group of Main Characters:  A lot of fantasy series have overwhelming lists of characters, many of whom have nothing to do with furthering the plot.  Sullivan keeps his story centered around a small group of main characters.  There are secondary characters, but he keeps them relevant.
  • Balanced World Building:  The world building in the Riyria series does not feel burdensome.  Many fantasy authors get so caught up in their world building they tend to lose the plot.  Michael Sullivan keeps the perfect balance and only interjects his world building when necessary.
  • Character Driven:  Sullivan has beautifully written characters.  I love my characters when I’m reading.  If I can’t connect with at least one character, the book is not worth reading in my opinion.  Royce and Hadrian are gems in the fantasy genre.  I have said before and will say again…I would marry Hadrian Blackwater if he were real and I wasn’t already married!

So there ya go!  If you’ve been toying with the idea of reading high fantasy, but just are not sure where to jump in, start here…The Riyria Revelations!!

photo sparkles effect

8 thoughts on “Feature and Follow #7: Reluctant Reader-Fantasy

  1. Pingback: So Freakin’ Excited!! | Bibliophage

Please tell me what you think!

