The Hangman’s Daughter ((2.5 Stars))

The Hangman's Daughter (The Hangman's Daughter, #1)Title: The Hangman’s Daughter
Author:  Oliver Potzsch
Genre:  Fiction; Historical Fiction

Publisher:  Amazon Crossing
Release Date:  December 7, 2010
Format:  E-book
Acquired:  Amazon Purchase
Pages:  448
Date Finished:  March 9, 2014
2.5 Stars

Goodreads Description

Germany, 1660: When a dying boy is pulled from the river with a mark crudely tattooed on his shoulder, hangman Jakob Kuisl is called upon to investigate whether witchcraft is at play. So begins The Hangman’s Daughter–the chillingly detailed, fast-paced historical thriller from German television screenwriter, Oliver Pötzsch–a descendent of the Kuisls, a famous Bavarian executioner clan.

My Review

Ok, I have to be honest.  I didn’t care for this book very much.  It was one of our book club picks and it was really a let down.  I was expecting so much more.  The story dragged on and on and there were huge parts of the book which could have been omitted.  For instance, one of the characters solved the mystery and then kept losing consciousness before they could relay who the murderer was.  Unfortunately, I’m not joking.

Jacob Kuisl, the hangman, and the historical bits surrounding his family were very interesting, but there needed to be more of it to hold my interest.  All of the supporting characters were…meh.  I didn’t connect with any of them.  They were flat, and…just not that interesting.  I couldn’t even be bothered to remember their names.  (Not that it would have been easy to remember all the German names.)  The villan was totally not scary.  One of my friends compared him to a Disney villan.  Overall, I just could not get invested in the characters or the storyline.

This is the first book in a series, and it did not make me want to read any more of them.  I hope the series gets better, but I don’t think I could make myself find out.

Sorry this review is so short, but sometimes, if you can’t say anything nice…

One thought on “The Hangman’s Daughter ((2.5 Stars))

  1. Pingback: Happy Blogiversary to Me! | Bibliophage

Please tell me what you think!

