Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) Audiobook

Cinder: Book One of the Lunar Chronicles | [Marissa Meyer]Title: Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1)
Author:  Marissa Meyer
Narrator:  Rebecca Soler

Genre:  Fiction, Fantasy, YA

Release Date:
Format:  Audiobook (Unabridged)
Acquired:  Purchased from iTunes
Date Finished:  4/26/14

4 Stars

Goodreads Description
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Cinder was my first foray into unabridged audiobooks.  I have listened to audiobooks since I was teenager, but mostly it was when I was driving to a vacation destination.  It was also usually the abridged version of a book.  Other than that, I have never really had a reason to do audiobooks.  I don’t commute to work, I don’t do long distance running, and I don’t do anything that takes an exorbitant amount of time which doesn’t also require an exorbitant amount of brainpower.  So, there are my reasons for not doing audiobooks.  I just happened to have an odd situation come up and decided I could fill it up with an audiobook.  But, I will say that after listening to this audiobook, I would definitely do one again if the situation presented itself.  I actually have a couple more in my iTunes queue for just such an occasion.

My Review

Ok, so Cinder is a sci-fi retelling of the classic Cinderella fairy tale, complete with aliens, cyborgs and androids set in a distopian future.  I really had my doubts, but it had good ratings, so I decided to give it a shot.  I was pleasantly surprised.  Cinder is definitely character driven. (My fave!)  I instantly liked Cinder.  She’s considered a second-class citizen since she is a cyborg, and it has kind of turned her into a witty, snarkster.  At the same time, she uses her snark to cover up her insecurities and abandonment issues.  The juxtaposition makes her feel very real.  Kai, AKA prince charming, is also likeable.  He is also witty and not your normal, stuck-up prince type.  Unfortunately, Kai did not get as much development due to the POV.  The secondary characters are even memorable, some of which I really liked and some I really hated.  (It is a fairy tale after all.)

The plot is quick-paced.  The twists and turns kept me interested all the way through.  Just because you know Cinderella, don’t assume you know this story.  Cinder is only hung on the basic frame of the Cinderella story.  There are a lot of things that totally took me by surprise.

The narrator, Rebecca Soler, did a great job.  She kept me hooked and really added a new dimension to my “reading” experience.

Wrap-Up

If you are on the fence about reading Cinder, give it a chance.  Even though it is a YA book, the YA aspects were not over the top.  I usually cannot even say, “teenage angst” without rolling my eyes, so believe me when I say, this one was not bad.  I am looking forward to #2 of the series.

One thought on “Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) Audiobook

Please tell me what you think!

