Feature and Follow #14: Dark Days

20131026-140421.jpgFeature & Follow is hosted by Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read. It’s a way to make new friends and gain new followers.  I hope you’ll follow me.  It doesn’t really matter how: Email, WordPress or Bloglovin.  If you do, let me know and I’ll follow back.

This week’s F&F:

Before blogging (dark times people!) how would you find out about new books or did you?

Dark days indeed!!  Finding out about new books usually entailed walking around B&N for hours, reading synopses, having a coffee, reading more synopses, taking a nap in one of their big cushy chairs, reading more synopses, and then saying, “The heck with it!  I’ll just get this one.”  Of course, I had no idea if it was even going to be a good book or not.

Then came Goodreads and smart phones!  That gave me a real advantage.  Then came blogs!!  The ultimate insight.  Now, I feel informed when I purchase a book.  It is always a gamble because everyone’s tastes are different, but I feel a little more secure in my purchases.  Of course, I get most of my books free through Netgalley these days.  Those are still a gamble, but I don’t feel bad if they suck because I didn’t pay for them.  🙂

photo sparkles effect

4 thoughts on “Feature and Follow #14: Dark Days

  1. It’s true that reading reviews on Goodreads and book blogs really helps you make an informed choice. Before I usually just had to go on the cover and jacket blurb alone, and sometimes the books were not what I was expecting. We don’t have Barnes and Noble in the UK-our equivalents are Waterstones and WH Smiths but neither of those serve coffee or have comfy seats, so I’m very jealous!

    I’m an existing follower.

    My FF post

    • I’ve been to the UK a couple of times and I have visited a Waterstone. I never notice before, but you’re absolutely correct, no comfy chairs or coffee. They totally need to buy some furniture and a coffee pot! 😉

Please tell me what you think!

